What’s In Your Shelf?

Books are still the most entertainment for the money. Despite the compact nature of DVDs, and the fact that you can get them for around 15 bucks, on average, in the US, they last around two hours. You can then watch them again, sure, but… well… it still doesn’t come up to the amount of content in a single novel. And a new paperback is cheaper than a new DVD. They’re more portable, you can take them anywhere except scuba diving, and there are no commercials.

It’s still my contention that, while you learn stuff watching TV as well as reading novels, what you learn when watching TV is, overall, bad. I fully believe, and I will say it out loud, that you learn more truth about humanity from reading fantasy novels than you do from watching TV—especially reality TV.

But that’s not what I wanted to talk about. My point was that readers buy books and keep books. They have them on their bookshelves. Personally, I’m always about two bookshelves behind my collection. I have fantasy novels galore, of course. I also have a few horror novels, quite a few children’s books, some mystery series (many of which come to 20 books or more), a small amount of regular fiction (ie, not filed in a genre) and quite a lot of nonfiction. The nonfiction are art books, history, mythology, build-your-own-house books, science books about language, evolution, biology, brain function and how-to. (Er, not how-to about brain function…) There are a few graphic novels, but not many; I usually don’t like comics, but some of them are too awesome to reject. So, basically, a little bit of a lot of things.

What’s on YOUR shelves?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 08:43:49

    Bookshelves? I just leave mine lying around for the cats to knock off things. 😉
    Well, I got rid of most of my Danielle Steel books (insert cheer here). I have some Stephen King, George Orwel, Terry whats-his-name that writes about witches and whatnot (Pratchett), and other stuff. My books are still packed boxes in the basement (and we’ve lived in the house for 2 years!), so I can’t exactly tell you what I’ve got…

  2. asherose
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 09:09:03

    Silly kitties! Want to take a trip to the used bookstore soon? More things for the kitties to knock over?

  3. xiamcorl
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 12:11:44

    My book shelves are practly nonexistant but I am a frequent library user. I do have a fair bit of fantacy in storage but there is no room for book shelves in this house.

    Croaker

  4. xiamcorl
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 12:37:39

    On library users if the link works. http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x222/ddecember/UnShelved.gif
    this is from Laurell K Hamlton’s webpage at http://www.laurellkhamilton.org/ Its near the bottom of the page. Just in case the link doesn’t work.

  5. asherose
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 15:33:49

    Thanks for that! The library is ultimately the best of all our bookshelves.

Leave a Reply

