Ideas For NaNo

Anyone else doing National Novel Writing Month this year?

Do you set up your ideas ahead of time, perhaps outline, or just go for it?

I’m of the second school. If I have an idea fleshed out enough to start writing, I want to start writing immediately, which would invalidate it for NaNo. So I wait until the midnight Denver kickoff party and start on the stroke of twelve. Last year I had 2200 words by the end of the two-hour session. This year I may have 12. Who knows? It’s an adventure.

If you think of your story ideas ahead of time, what are yours? I’d love to hear!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. xiamcorl
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 14:57:24

    Yup I’m doing the Nano this year an I have an outline in my head but that may change at any moment

    Croaker

  2. Lee
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 19:24:59

    I’m a big planner when it comes to Nano. I get all nervous that I am not going to have time to think of things while tucking along towards 50k so I make outlines, characters sketches, scene cards, idea boards (with pictures and drawing of settings), etc.

    My idea this year is a romance set in 2012 during an apocalypse. 🙂 I think this might be the one that actually gets finished!

  3. asherose
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 21:02:39

    That does sound very interesting… no end of ideas there! I wish you the best of luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

