Poetry

I used to write some pretty bad poetry. It had obvious imagery, failed to condense feelings and meanings into the smallness of its scope, and was generally angsty and suckful. It even, sometimes, rhymed! Shudder. (Actually I don’t mind whether poetry rhymes or not, but many poetry snobs feel it’s the mark of an amateur.)

Nowadays my poetry no longer sucks. That’s because I don’t write any.

I never was a big poetry reader, although I enjoyed some of it. I think that’s why it was never my metier. Not only is it short, which is hard for me, as you can tell from reading my increasingly shorter free reads over the last few months (I think I can categorically state that the next one will be longer. The current one isn’t even a thousand words. No way I can do shorter than that. [Of course, having said that…] How long is this parenthesis going to go on, anyway?) but it’s too pure for me. It’s imagery without character, I think, is the heart of it. I’m the world’s most character-oriented writer.

And yet… and yet… poetry is about words. It’s a writing skill. Maybe someday I’ll take it up again and try to learn how to do it right, and polish it, and generally get better. Perhaps I ought to start reading a lot of it now, in anticipation of that time, years in the future. Anyone got recommendations?

Word Count: 2735
Other: posted, read a lot of writing advice on the Holly Lisle site, highly recommended

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. xiamcorl
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 11:29:04

    In the immortal words of Max Headroom ” P-P-P-Poetry, come sweet slumber enshroud thee in thy purple cloak. That doesn’t even rhyme.” Most of my poetry is stolen though I have only used original pieces in my works so far, but when I was playing the text based role play game I stole a lot of pieces from the web and made them in to songs for the game. I haven’t tried to write any new poetry in a long time I need to practice it again after Nano.

  2. asherose
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 12:40:10

    Me too, but as you say, definitely AFTER Nano. 🙂

  3. bldherenow
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 07:37:23

    Hello, I would like to invite you to join; The Poetic Voice Community. It is a writer’s site where you can enter contests – add poetry and get feedback. The latest entries are listed on the blog posts. Click on link, and check us out! Then join, and post.

    Website: http://poeticvoice.ning.com/

Leave a Reply

