Give Your Subconscious An Assignment

So what do you do if you have a great idea, but you’re going full tilt on another project? When I was younger and not yet a good writer, I would tend to stop in the middle, promise the current project I’d get back to it, and write the new idea. I was afraid that if I didn’t, I’d lose the new idea; it would swim back to whatever ocean it surfaced from, and never be seen again. Come, I will make you a fisher of ideas.

However, what usually happened was that the division of loyalties caused a train wreck (it’s my metaphor, I can mix it if I want to) and I would peter out on the new idea, and never pick up the old project. So I’d have lost both. This was clearly bad organization.

Here’s my suggestion if you have the same problem. Take a note, write a file, jot down the basic ideas that occurred to you. Only the basics. Then stuff it away in a corner of your subconscious and don’t worry about it. Hand it to your subconscious like one of those assignments we used to get in school, the big projects or book reports that we were supposed to work on over the next couple of weeks, but actually did the night before. When you’re done with your current project, you’ll be able to come back to it with a clear heart.

If you’re lucky, you’ll have a large selection of these ideas, index cards, notes, to pull from when you want to write a new story. Ideas are everywhere. It’s the execution of it that takes skill and discipline. I suppose talent is in there somewhere, but it’s beginning to seem like the least of it…

Word Count: 6496
Other: Christmas story, anyone?

Leave a Reply

