Myth Busted!

For most of my writing life, I’ve operated under the misapprehension that inspiration, a story’s ‘flow’, whether it was moving fast or slowly, or whether I was completely blocked, were all matters out of my control. Writing advice from all quarters said that discipline and diligence could chain the muse, make it something I had control over, and I didn’t believe it.

I submit that those who say these things, like I did, have not yet tried the discipline method.

For the past several months, I’ve been sitting down at the same time and place every morning, or very nearly every morning, including weekends, to do the writing. It’s the first thing I do with my day (well, after taking my medicine, getting up, driving kids to school if needed, etcetera). And what I have discovered is that I wake up already thinking about the next thing that’s going to happen in the story. It no longer matters that I be deeply, passionately involved in the characters; I don’t have to wait for that for writing to happen. The magic of flow-creativity is in my hands now, not me in its.

Word Count: 4969
Other: posted, attempted to start additional writing group in my area

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. xiamcorl
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 10:41:16

    did you throw this one to Adam and Jamie for conformation? 😛

    Love Ya
    Croaker

  2. asherose
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 11:07:42

    Heh heh… nope, they would have blown something up trying to find out for sure…

Leave a Reply

