Whack, whack!

I have to watch out. I just spent a good 20 minutes lecturing my best friend on the subject of writing. It was about discipline: how talent, skill and a strong grasp of research are all needed, but discipline is what really makes the difference between a wannabe and a real writer. The discipline to write every day, without fail.

Now I feel bad. My ego monster got out and I need to give it a few brisk whacks on the nose. After all (and in my defense, I did say this to him as well) it wasn’t very long ago, less than a year ago, that I was not an every-day writer myself. So I really don’t have the authority to lecture anyone. Whackity whack, take that, ego monster!

Writers are, in the long view, performers as well. We are the shyest of performers. We don’t have to show our faces much, or thrive on direct applause. But we do create art for the enjoyment of other people, so we fall into that category. And to do that, we need an ego. It does take some serious ego to decide that the voices in our heads are so cool, other people will pay us for the privilege of seeing what they say. But don’t let the ego monster out of its cage.

Word Count: 3518
Other: posted

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khaalidah
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:12:48

    Funny and true!
    But, Ilike to see it as bravery.
    I once read somewhere that anyone can write, but it takes a brave person to attempt tp publish. So true! I have a daughter who is an amazing artist, but she hasn’t drummed up the courage to let otherpeople see it. Me? I once had a writing teacher ask the class, “Who likes what they have written?” I was the only one to raise my hand. I responded by saying, “I like everything that I write.” Needless to say, he was impressed by my bravery. Or perhaps it was my ego?

  2. asherose
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 17:17:42

    You’re quite right. We need both!

    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

