Story or the Book?

Which is which? I have gotten a few storylines written down, or perhaps they’re synopses. They certainly aren’t outlines. They’re not the terrain, but they aren’t the map. Nevertheless, they guide me as I write–otherwise my book gets threequarteritis.

What’s that, you say? Something no book doctor can fix. (See what I did there?) Threequarteritis seems to strike my work a lot. It’s that point, almost always about three quarters of the way to the end, where I get stuck. REALLY stuck.

Having a storyline already written down to turn to, at that point, allows me to force myself through the yucky part. The part where I know the work is awful and the writing is ghastly.

If I successfully force my way through it, I can get the story to turn into a book.

Leave a Reply

